Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript
16

MikeDrop - The Polls Are Moving

Harris continues to gain traction in battleground polls today, with Fox News and Morning Consult showing Kamala gaining ground. However, there is still some softness among key voter groups.
16

Long-time followers of MikeDrop and The Lincoln Project in 2020 will know that I have a different perspective on interpreting polls compared to what you’re likely hearing on social media and cable news.

Why is that?

Because I actively run campaigns…my firm is polling dozens of races across the country, and I want to share insights from a professional’s point of view, rather than relying on pundits, talking heads, or “strategists”’ who haven’t run a race in the past 20 years (if ever).

One of the most important things to consider is movement: the direction a candidate is heading. In my estimation, this is more important than the horserace for a host of reasons I discuss here.

I will also reiterate the significance of the 50% threshold, my dislike for polls with “leaners,” and how campaigns utilize “tracking” polls.

Discussion about this podcast

The Great Transformation with Mike Madrid
MikeDrop
A weekly update on America's political vital signs during this historic period of unprecedented change